Skip to main content

Clinical Training (Doctoral and MCAPS)

Clinical training (Doctoral and MCAPS)

Clinical training (Doctoral and MCAPS)

Professional Doctorates in Clinical Psychology

Our Professional Doctorate programmes are different from conventional PhDs, which essentially offer training in academic research skills.

Our programmes all include taught academic and clinical research modules as well as applied psychological practice (DClinPsy and DPPClinPrac) and leadership (DClinPsy and DClinRes). All programmes include a major research project dissertation.

Students on these programmes are typically experienced clinical practitioners in Psychology (DClinPsy), Psychotherapy (DClinPrac and DClinPrac(Res)) or Allied Health Professionals (DClinRes) who want to enhance their theoretical knowledge, clinical skills and research experience.

Degree apprenticeships

Clinical Associate in Psychology: Degree Apprenticeship

A unique opportunity for healthcare professonals to gain advanced level clinical skills and training to become a skilled professional clinical associate in psychology. Develop skills for effective communication with service-users, families and professionals, and learn to function in a multi-disciplinary setting.

Find out more:

Our programmes are taught by clinical psychologists and academic researchers, according to the latest evidence-informed clinical pedagogic approaches.

NameRoleEmail
Rachel Handley Director of PGR Professional Doctoral Programmes, Clinical Director and Programme Lead - DClinPsy R.V.Handley@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Butler  Academic Director - DClinPsy C.A.Butler@exeter.ac.uk
Jennifer Limond Senior Research Lead J.Limond@exeter.ac.uk
Richard Mizen Studies in Psychoanalytic Psychotherapy Programmes, Director of Portfolio - DClinPrac and DClinPrac(Res) R.F.Mizen@exeter.ac.uk
Elizabeth Parry Tutor - DClinPsy E.B.Parry2@exeter.ac.uk
Henrietta Roberts Research Tutor - DClinPsy H.Roberts@exeter.ac.uk
Tracy Rydin-Orwin Senior Lecturer and Clinical Tutor - DClinPsy T.J.Rydin-Orwin@exeter.ac.uk
Nicholas Sarra Senior Teaching Fellow N.Sarra@exeter.ac.uk
Cordet Smart Research Director - DClinPsy C.A.Smart2@exeter.ac.uk
Alicia Smith Lecturer and Tutor (EDI) a.smith@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Janet Smithson Senior Lecturer J.Smithson@exeter.ac.uk
Alexandra Stephens Lecturer and Academic Tutor - DClinPsy A.J.Stephens@exeter.ac.uk
Yvonne Stevens Senior Lecturer and Academic Lead - DClinPsy Y.Stevens3@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Raluca Topciu Senior Lecturer and Programme Lead - DClinRes R.A.Topciu@exeter.ac.uk
Elizabeth Weightman Lecturer - DClinPrac E.Weightman@exeter.ac.uk